Welcome to Urban Local Bodies Kashmir

Local self Government means Government at local level, termed as 1st tier of democratic set up of any country, where the decisions are to be made at local level. In our country this tier of government is followed by Government at State termed as 2nd tier of governance and the 3rd tier is Government at apex level or Central Government.
Local Self Governance in our country has been seen from the year 1687, when 1st Municipal Corporation was established in Madras and with the passage of time the same was followed in other areas of our country.
The UT of Jammu and Kashmir also witnessed government at local level when in the year 1886 two municipalities were established one for Jammu and one for Kashmir under the J&K Municipal Act No.16 of 1886. The number of such Local Self Governing Bodies, have now gone to 78 which include 19 Municipal Councils and 57 Municipal Committees and 2 Municipal Corporations in the UT.
The Local Self governance is termed as democracy at grass root level, thus have a vital importance in the matters of development, upliftment of weaker sections like Slum improvement, providing of better health, hygiene and Civic Amenities in local areas. As per the statistics of 2011 the urban population of our UT constitutes 33% of the total population. Therefore, Local Self Governance has a vast coverage area. Almost all the important cities, towns and tourist attraction places come under the control of Local Self Governance.